2014 Annual Hoosier Salon 90th Exhibition

The 90th annual Hoosier Salon Exhibition at the Indiana History Center in Indianapolis opened on June 26th, exhibiting 127 works of art by 106 Indiana artists. Judges for this years show are Frank Lalumia from Trinidad, Colorado and Kathleen Newman from Chicago, Illinois. For the second year in a row, Mary Gretsinger won Best of Show for her 30" x 40" oil painting titled "Behind the Circle" receiving the top cash prize of $5,000. Fred Doloresco received $1,500, Best Traditional Oil for his 40" x 46" piece titled "Winter Pokagon". A 36" x 46"painting by artist Roy Boswell titled "Mysterious Place"  received the $1,000 award for Best Impressionistic. Carol Strock-Wasson's work in pastel won the $1,500 prize for Best Pastel. The work was titled "Values Close to Home" and measured 26" x 28". In the Watercolor category, artist Patricia Hooper's 17" x 21" portrait titled "Maddox" was awarded $1,000 for Best Watercolor.  A porcelain clay sculptor titled "Hollyhock at Midnight" by Amy Carroll won Best Sculptor and $1,000 in prize money. Best Contemporary work went to artist April Willy for a 30" x 40"  oil tilted "Cluster", she received $1,00. Jessica Smit won the $350 for Best First Time Exhibitor for her 35" x 37" oil painting titled "Thirst"

Additional awards and prize money at this years show are:

Outstanding Awards - $500

Charlene Brown, 17.5" x 21.5", titled Joel at the Seawall, awarded for outstanding oil
Deb Ward, titled,  28" x 36", "Japanese Tea", West Harrison awarded outstanding watercolor
Donna Shortt, 27" x  27"  titled "The Sled Run", awarded outstanding pastel
David Cunningham, 22.5" x 22.5", titled "New Years Resolution", awarded outstanding still life
Forrest Formsma, 34" x 46", titled, The Monuments Men" awarded outstanding contemporary

Jury Prize Of Distinction - $250

Susan Mauck, 25" x 29" titled "Montana Annie",Westfield, Jury Prize of Distinction Portrait
Patricia Rhoden Bartels, 36" x 43" titled "Frigid", Jury Prize of Distinction Impressionistic Landscape
Tamara Scantland-adams, 25.25" x 29.5" titled "Orange", Jury Prize of Distinction Still Life
Rodney Reveal, 36" x 28" titled What's Up?, Jury Prize of Distinction Watercolor
William Carpenter, 60" x 40", Pastel, titled Slave,Toil Workmanship , Jury Prize of Distinction – Etching/Drawing/Mixed Media
Lawrence Rudolech, 34" x 28", oil, titled "Tom Tom's Exhibition #4", Jury Prize of Choice

List of Artists Juried into the show 

Dan Annarino Laura Appleby Biagio Azzarelli Linda Barrett
Henry Bell Lisa Bemish Kari Black Joe Blalock
Philip Blomgren Roy Boswell Joanne Breen John Brooks
Charlene Brown Ron Burgess JoAnne Burkhar Charles Capek
William Carpenter Amy Carroll Ellen Crabb Cindy Cradler
Roderic Cranor  Judy Crawford Cindy Crofoot  David Cunningham 
Douglas David  Rob Day  Steve Dodge Fred Doloresco 
Lynn Dunbar Charles Edwards  Karen Fehr Forrest Formsma 
Beth Forst Suzy Friedman  Joel Fremion Penny French-Deal
Brian Gordy Gerrie Govert Linda Gredy Mary Gretsinger
Jerome Harste Jeanne Hilfiker Thomas Himsel David Hockensmith
Patricia Hooper Kathryn Houghton David Hudson Corrine Hull
Benjamin Johnson  Steve Johnson  Gary Jusik Troy Kilgore
Scott Kilmer Anthony King  Patrick Kluesner  Marilyn Kruger 
Hewood Lee Wyatt LeGrand  Judith Lewis Kathy Los-Rathburn 
Sarah Luginbill Joyce Lupresto  Therese Lynch  Diane Lyon 
Miguel Malagon Jeremy Mallov Cassia Margolis Susan Mauck
Sandy Maudlin Jeanne McLeish Roger Merkel  Bob Meyers 
Martha Nahrwold  Bruce Neckar  Chris Newlund Pam Niccum 
Nancy Olds  Abbie Parmele  Alan Patrick  Jerry Points
Susie Rachles Rodney Reveal Patricia Rhoden David Riedel
J. AnnaRoberts Larry Rudolech Martha Sando Tamara Scantland-Adams
Michael Schulbaum David Seward Carol Sexton Donna Shortt
Jessica Smit  Jerry Smith  Arlyne Springer  Hattie Stanton 
Carol Strock Wasson  Deb Ward  Patricia Weiss  Jacqueline Welsh 
Tricia Wente  Katie Whipple  April Willy  Rick Wilson 
Marilyn Witt Dan Woodson Tom Woodson  


You are here: Home Indiana Art Gallery Event News 2014 Annual Hoosier Salon 90th Exhibition